Solange Knowles Net Worth

Solange Knowles is an American singer, model, actor, and songwriter. She is majorly passionate about songwriting and happens to be the sister of Beyoncé who perhaps, needs no introduction! Together this dynamic sister-duo has made the record of being the first-ever sisters to enlist their albums at the top of US charts in a calendar year. Let’s move further on to know more about some interesting facts and net worth.

Early Life

Solange Knowles Net Worth

Solange was born on the 24th of June, 1986 in Houston, Texas. Her father, Mathew Knowles owns a record label named ‘Music World Entertainment’, and her mother, Tina Knowles owns a label inspired by her own mom named ‘House of Deréon.’ Solange is the sister of the renowned Beyoncé and is five years younger than her. Solange showed an interest in the creative arts from a very early age, and thus, she began to learn dancing and performing in the theatre.

She began singing soon afterward and started songwriting when she was nine. Although she wanted to pursue recording when she was in her early teens, her parents asked her to wait some more. She later began working with her sister’s group, as a backup dancer and also started writing songs for the members. Solange’s father signed her up for his record company ‘Music World Entertainment’ when she was 16.

She released her debut album, ‘Solo Star’ in 2002, which garnered an overall mixed response. Solange got married at the early age of 17 to Daniel Smith in February of 2004. In October of the same year, she had a son whom they named Daniel Julez J. Smith, Jr. She even wrote a song for him called ‘6 O’Clock Blues’.

Her family moved to Moscow after the birth of Daniel. However, the couple got divorced in 2007. She moved over to Los Angeles with her son afterward, and in 2013, to New Orleans, Louisiana, where she married video director Alan Ferguson on 16th November 2014.


Solange was always interested in music and served as a backup dancer several times for her sister, Beyoncé’s group, ‘Destiny’s Child.’ Solange officially entered the music business in 2001 however, when she sang the title song for the series ‘The Proud Family.’ She performed in a soundtrack of the 2002 film ‘Austin Powers in Goldmember.’ That year, she also appeared in Lil Romeo’s second studio album, ‘Game Time’ in which her singing as well as songwriting (‘Beyond Imagination’ and ‘Obsession’) were featured partly.

In the same year, she lent her voice to the character of Chanel, the cousin of Penny Proud, in the show ‘The Proud Family.’ Her father, Mathew Knowles announced in 2003 that he was planning to add Solange to ‘Destiny’s Child,’ but in August of the same year, Solange’s sister denied the news as a rumor and confirmed that the group would remain a trio. Solange’s big break was the release of her debut album ‘Solo Star,’ which released on the 21st of January, 2003. It was a pop-oriented album and achieved the 49th position on the US Billboard 200 and 23rd position on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart.

Soon after, she tried her hand at acting while on a break from music. While in Idaho, following her marriage, she kept writing songs, such as ‘Upgrade U’ and ‘Get Me Bodied’ both of which were added in her sister’s album ‘B’Day.’ She got many minor roles between the period of 2005 to 2007, which includes the direct-to-video ‘Bring It On: All or Nothing’ (2006).

Solange started working on her second album, which was completed by 2008, titled ‘Sol-Angel and the Hadley St. Dreams’. It has songs inspired by the 1960s and the 1970s. The album came out on the 26th of August, 2008, and ranked 9 on the Us Billboard 200. The lead single from the album, ‘I decided,’ reached the top of the Billboard Hot Dance Club Party chart after it was released in April 2008.

The whole album was widely considered as her breakthrough in the music industry. Solange released a single, ‘Fuck the Industry (Signed Sincerely)’ in 2010, which described the state of the music industry, according to her. Solange released a teaser for her lead single ‘Losing you’ from her third album in September 2012. In May 2013, Solange dropped the news about releasing her own record label named ‘Saint Records’ through which her third album would be released and would be distributed by Sony.

Her third album, ‘A Seat at the Table’ got released on the 30th of September, 2016 and was received widely with quite positive reviews. It became her first ever album to top the charts in the US. She released music videos of two of the songs from her album, namely, ‘Don’t Touch My Hair’ and ‘Cranes in the Sky’ on 3rd October 2016. The videos were co-directed by her and Alan Ferguson.

Awards and Achievements

• Earned the R&B and Hip-Hop Song accolade at the ASCAP awards- for the song ‘Get Me Bodied’ (2008).
• Won the Grammy for Best R&B Performance- for the song ‘Cranes in the Sky’ (2017).
• The first winner of Billboard Women in Music Impact Award
• Glamour Award for Women of the Year (2017).
• Won the BET Centric Award- for ‘Cranes in the Sky’ (2017).
• Won the Soul Train Music Award: The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award- for ‘Cranes in the Sky’ (2017).
• Won the Webby Award- Artist of the Year (2017).
• Billboard magazine ranked Solange as the 100th most successful dance artist of all time.

Net Worth of Solange Knowles

The net worth of Solange Knowles is currently $10 million, much of which is a result of her music career. She is also associated with some other ventures, including an endorsement deal with ‘Rimmel London’ and a hip-hop oriented clothing line for young children and adolescents.

Solange has devoted herself to the field of music and acting and has gathered quite a lot of experience as well as recognition through her hard work and consistency. Following their dreams with utmost dedication and shining bright like stars is truly in the blood of the Knowles sisters.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here